The Driver Education Program is an integrated two-phase program taught over an 18-week semester. The two phases consist of classroom and behind the wheel (on street driving), which exceed the requirements set by the State of Illinois.
Students must receive a passing grade in a minimum of eight (8) courses during the previous two (2) semesters. Students must then complete an application for instructional permit to the Secretary of State with a check for $20.00 along with passing a written permit test and vision test.
Students must pass both the classroom and driving phases in order to be eligible to get their license. They must also attend a minimum of thirty 30 hours of classroom and drive for a total (BTW) of six (6) hours. State law also requires each student to complete fifty (50) hours of practice driving with an adult (outside of class) to qualify for an Illinois license. Ten (10) of those hours must be in night driving conditions. These fifty (50) hours must be documented on the student driver log sheet.
2018 Summer School Driver Education Information
The registration link for Summer Driver Education will open on Wednesday, January 10th and close on Friday, February 2nd. The course will run from Monday, June 4th through Tuesday, July 17th, with no school on July 4th or July 5th. The fee is $150 and all fees must be paid at the time of registration, fee waivers do not apply. All students who register for the course must be 15 years old by May 15th and have passed eight or more courses during the previous two semesters.